- TipNut.com - http://tipnut.com -

30+ Decorative Votive Holders

Posted By Tipnut On March 2, 2011 @ 12:45 am In Crafty Ideas | 4 Comments

Here’s a nice assortment of crafty tutorials for making decorative glass votives, you’ll find plenty of creative ideas in this collection using a variety of materials (such as paper, lace, cinnamon sticks even an artichoke). Enjoy!

howaboutorange.blogspot.com

howaboutorange.blogspot.com

Cut Paper [1]: Cut pattern from self-adhesive paper then stick design on glass candle holders.

Lacy [2]: Pieces of lace are shaped with fabric stiffener and molded over filled balloons until they dry. Once dry, fit a small glass votive inside.

marthastewart.com

marthastewart.com

tradewindtiaras.blogspot.com

tradewindtiaras.blogspot.com

Lace Covered [3]: Very easy to make, just wrap a piece of lace around a small glass jar or votive and keep in place with transparent tape.

Pine Cone Scales [4]: Layer pine cone scales with hot glue to achieve this look.

zakkalife.blogspot.com

zakkalife.blogspot.com

sunset.com

sunset.com

Goblets [5]: Fill metal goblets with melted microwavable soy wax and candle wicks for this lovely craft.

Printed Paper Votive Luminary [6]: Print chosen design on cardstock then fold and shape around a glass votive.

bystephanielynn.com

bystephanielynn.com

bridalcookie.com

bridalcookie.com

Artichoke Candle Holder [7]: Cut out the inside of an artichoke (first given a lemon juice bath to prevent oxidization) then insert a small glass votive and tealight.

Paper Napkin Covered [8]: Apply one layer of decorative paper napkin to a glass votive with a 50/50 mix of water and PVA.

pompomemporium.com

pompomemporium.com

designspongeonline.com

designspongeonline.com

Fall Leaf [9]: Decorate small glass containers with leaves (preserved with clear poly-crylic) kept in place with double sided tape and twine.

Easy Fabric Covered [10]: Cover glass votives with bits of fabric and mod podge.

downtoearthnw.com

downtoearthnw.com

ruffledblog.com

ruffledblog.com

DIY Vellum Wrapper [11]: Wrap vintage book paper around mini glass jars.

Cornhusk [12]: Wrap votives with dried cornhusks and tie in place with ribbon.

marthastewart.com

marthastewart.com

deliciouslyorganized.blogspot.com

deliciouslyorganized.blogspot.com

DIY Mercury Glass [13]: Spray the inside of glass vases and candle holders with mirror paint to achieve this look.

Colored Glass [14]: Pint-sized canning jars, glazed with paint to match a garden’s decorating scheme, provide pretty, low-cost candle lanterns. These blue-hue jars enhance the garden scene while protecting the votive candles from breezes.

bhg.com

bhg.com

dottieangel.blogspot.com

dottieangel.blogspot.com

Jam Jar Cozies [15]:
Three adorable little cozies to make that cover jars of all sizes.

Sweater Cozies [16]: Simple crochet pattern to make votive cozies using worsted weight wool.

blairpeter.typepad.com

blairpeter.typepad.com

candletech.com

candletech.com

Water Balloon Luminaries [17]: A paraffin wax luminary is made using a balloon as the mold, tea light tucked inside once set.

Birch Tree Bark Candles [18]: Votive candles are slipped inside hollowed out birch branches.

countryliving.com

countryliving.com

oncewed.com

oncewed.com

DIY Painted Votives [19]: Paint the inside of glass votives with watery paint, allow to dry and then see how pretty they look once candles are lit.

Origami Wraps [20]: Squares of decorative origami paper are folded and taped around clear glass votives, the paper is thin enough for the light to shine through.

marthastewart.com

marthastewart.com

craftzine.com

craftzine.com

Stained Glass [21]: Cover a clear glass votive with tissue paper in assorted colors (cut in various shapes) and Mod Podge.

Faux Gilded Cups [22]: Small frosted cups are decorated in a lacey pattern using a paper doily, spray adhesive and Sharpie metallic paint pens.

onepearlbutton.com

onepearlbutton.com

naturecomposed.com

naturecomposed.com

DIY Mercury Glass [23]: Use vintage cut glasses for a pleasing display, items required for project include silver, gold, or copper leaf sheets, adhesive and leafing paint.

Photo Memory Candles [24]: Black & white photocopies and transparent contact paper are used to make these glass candleholders.

inspiredideasmag.blogspot.com

inspiredideasmag.blogspot.com

bhg.com

bhg.com

Evergreen Candles [25]: Spray adhesive is used to cover a glass hurricane with evergreen pieces, fill container with pillar candles.

Fabric Lined Glass Jars [26]: Should only be used for battery-operated tea lights for safety reasons.

fellowfellow.com

fellowfellow.com

blissimagesandbeyond.blogspot.com

blissimagesandbeyond.blogspot.com

Frosted [27]: Wrap a thrift store goblet with rubber bands then spray with frosted glass spray paint.

Concrete Tealight Holder [28]: Made with fine mixed concrete, small silicone molds, oil and some tealights…great for the deck!

timberpress.com

timberpress.com

somethingturquoise.com

somethingturquoise.com

Ombre Colored Sand [29]: Play sand, regular liquid style food coloring and lots of mixing by hand to blend the colors well.

Easy Vintage Style [30]: Decorated with old book pages, bits of ribbon and lace and flowers.

acottageindustry.typepad.com

acottageindustry.typepad.com

save-on-crafts.com

save-on-crafts.com

DIY Wine Glass Candle Lampshades [31]: Inexpensive wine glasses become fancy candle lamps when topped with vellum shades.

Article printed from TipNut.com: http://tipnut.com

URL to article: http://tipnut.com/decorative-votives/

URLs in this post:

[1] Cut Paper: http://howaboutorange.blogspot.com/2007/06/cut-paper-votive-holder-project.html

[2] Lacy: http://www.marthastewart.com/269430/lacy-votive-holder

[3] Lace Covered: http://tradewindtiaras.blogspot.com/2010/11/diy-project-super-simple-lace-covered.html

[4] Pine Cone Scales: http://zakkalife.blogspot.com/2008/11/how-to-make-pine-cone-votives.html

[5] Goblets: http://www.sunset.com/home/weekend-projects/how-to-make-goblet-votives-00400000043465/

[6] Printed Paper Votive Luminary: http://www.bystephanielynn.com/2009/12/printed-paper-votive-luminary.html

[7] Artichoke Candle Holder: http://bridalcookie.com/weddingtobe/quick-diy-artichoke-candle-holder/

[8] Paper Napkin Covered: http://www.pompomemporium.com/content/valentine-votive

[9] Fall Leaf: http://www.designsponge.com/2008/11/fall-leaf-votives.html

[10] Easy Fabric Covered: http://www.downtoearthnw.com/blogs/dwellwellnw/2010/aug/24/easy-diy-how-make-fabric-candle-holders/

[11] DIY Vellum Wrapper: http://ruffledblog.com/votive-candle-vellum-wrapper-from-vintage-book-pages/

[12] Cornhusk: http://www.marthastewart.com/273502/cornhusk-votives

[13] DIY Mercury Glass: http://deliciouslyorganized.blogspot.com/2009/12/diy-mercury-glass.html

[14] Colored Glass: http://www.bhg.com/crafts/easy/30-minute-projects/colored-glass-garden-votives/

[15] Jam Jar Cozies: http://dottieangel.blogspot.com/2010/11/cluster-of-gleeful-jam-jars-how-to.html

[16] Sweater Cozies: http://blairpeter.typepad.com/weblog/2011/01/sweater-cozies-for-candle-holders.html

[17] Water Balloon Luminaries: http://www.candletech.com/techniques-and-ideas/water-balloon-luminaries/

[18] Birch Tree Bark Candles: http://www.countryliving.com/crafts/projects/birch-tree-bark-candles-0109

[19] DIY Painted Votives: http://www.oncewed.com/43918/wedding-blog/diy-painted-votives/

[20] Origami Wraps: http://www.marthastewart.com/273319/origami-votive-wraps

[21] Stained Glass: http://blog.makezine.com/craft/how-to_stained_glass_votive_ho/

[22] Faux Gilded Cups: http://www.onepearlbutton.com/2010/11/tutorial-faux-gilded-votive-cups-with.html

[23] DIY Mercury Glass: http://www.naturecomposed.com/mercury-glass-votives-diy/

[24] Photo Memory Candles: http://inspiredideasmag.blogspot.com/2008/05/making-memory-candles-project-from.html

[25] Evergreen Candles: http://www.bhg.com/christmas/indoor-decorating/how-to-make-an-evergreen-candle/

[26] Fabric Lined Glass Jars: http://fellowfellow.com/sweet-diy-votives/

[27] Frosted: http://blissimagesandbeyond.blogspot.com/2011/10/1-frosted-centerpiece.html

[28] Concrete Tealight Holder: http://www.timberpress.com/blog/2011/10/giveaway-how-to-make-a-concrete-tealight-holder/

[29] Ombre Colored Sand: http://somethingturquoise.com/2012/09/14/diy-ombre-colored-sand/

[30] Easy Vintage Style: http://acottageindustry.typepad.com/a_cottage_industry/2009/05/easy-vintage-style-votives-tutorial.html

[31] DIY Wine Glass Candle Lampshades: http://www.save-on-crafts.com/wincanlamfro.html

Copyright © 2008 TipNut.com. All rights reserved.