- TipNut.com - http://tipnut.com -

20+ Homemade Pies: {Top Picks + Tips}

Posted By Tipnut On November 18, 2010 @ 4:39 am In Recipes | No Comments

We’re heading into the holiday season and pies are not only a favorite on the menu, they’re expected. Store bought pies are ok (some even pretty good), but there’s nothing really like homemade pie! Here are my picks of pie recipes found around the net, many traditional favorites (some with a tasty twist) that perfectly completes every meal (holiday or not!)…and don’t miss the pie making tips I listed at the bottom. Enjoy!

*Note: Descriptions below are quotes from the sources

Freshly Baked Homemade Pies Are A Treat Looked Forward To During The Holidays

Freshly Baked Homemade Pies Are A Treat Looked Forward To During The Holidays

  1. Chocolate Chess Pie [1]: Recipe from Better Homes And Gardens.
  2. Chocolate Chunk Pecan Pie [2]: This pie features chocolate chips and pecans in a moist, dense filling — who could ask for anything more? Recipe from King Arthur Flour.
  3. Chocolate Espresso Pecan Pie [3]: If you do have the patience to wait, you shall be rewarded with not only a lovely slice of dark and enchanting pie, but a deliciously sweet (but not overly sweet), nutty pie with not-so-subtle hints of a coffee shop swirling about your mouth. I loved it. Recipe from Use Real Butter.
  4. 16 Impressive Apple Pies & Tarts To Make: {Recipes} [4]: My collection of apple pie recipes.
  5. LIBBY’S Famous Pumpkin Pie [5]: This is the traditional holiday pumpkin pie. This classic recipe has been on LIBBY’S® Pumpkin labels since 1950. This pie is easy to prepare and even easier to enjoy. Just mix, pour, bake for a delicious homemade tradition. Recipe found at Very Best Baking.
  6. Rum Raisin Apple Pie [6]: Raisins steeped in dark rum mingle with tart and sweet apples in this updated version of an American favorite. It’s a showstopper when paired with lightly sweetened whipped cream. Recipe found at Epicurious.
  7. Pecan Pie in the Sky [7]: Pecan pie is a fairly sweet pie and rightly so. But I don’t like pecan pie when it’s overly sweet. I know that “overly sweet” is subjective, but I wanted to craft this recipe to my family’s tastes. Instead of using one cup (8 fluid ounces) of corn syrup (which is the amount that most recipes for a 9-inch pie seem to require), I cut back on the corn syrup and I even replaced some volume with maple syrup. When combined with the corn syrup, the maple syrup adds a very subtle yet different dimension of sweetness to the pie. Recipe found at Alpineberry.
  8. Spiced Apple and Pear Pie [8]: Busy Bakers’ Tips: The filling can be made up to 2 days ahead and refrigerated. The pie can be fully formed, except for brushing with egg and dusting with sugar, and frozen. Place the pie in the freezer for 30 minutes, to harden it slightly, and then double wrap it with plastic wrap. Freeze for up to 2 months. Recipe found at Food Network.
  9. Lemon Meringue Pie [9]: But I must say I was very pleasantly surprised by this version of Lemon Meringue Pie!! This pie was good! No scratch that it wasn’t just good…It was in fact beyond good…It was delicious! Recipe found at Dianne’s Dishes.
  10. Grandma’s Chocolate Pie [10]: There are pies and then there is my grandma’s chocolate pie. It’s a luscious chocolate custard resting on a flaky, almost salty crust, topped with a springy meringue. For me, it’s la pièce de résistance and whether times are good or times are bad, it’s always welcome and appropriate. Recipe found at Homesick Texan.
  11. Key Lime Pie Recipe [11]: The pie has a graham cracker crust and a rich lime filling that is made with-lime zest, lime juice, egg yolks, and sweetened condensed milk. Recipe from Two Peas And Their Pod.
  12. Coconut Custard Pie [12]: Recipe from Eagle Brand.
  13. Cleveland Heights Cherry Pie [13]: Recipe from Michael Ruhlman.
  14. Easy Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheesecake Pie [14]: In a matter of minutes you will have a delicious cheesecake pie topped with peanuts and drizzled with caramel topping. Sit back and wait for the compliments. Found at Very Best Baking.
  15. Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie [15]: Passion for pie but not for the traditional preparation? This easy-press cereal crust makes pie-making a snap! Recipe from Betty Crocker.
  16. Peanut Butter Pie [16]: Alton Brown recipe. Found at Food Network.
  17. Butterfinger Pie Recipe [17]: A little bit more Weight Watchers friendly, but it still tastes fabulous. Though this isn’t an official one of Weight Watchers Dessert Recipes, I think it’s a great dessert idea for anyone who is watching their Points but has a SERIOUS sweet tooth (and Butterfinger craving)! From Laaloosh.
  18. Caramel Banana Pie [18]: A recipe for pie crust found in Bon Appétit (July issue) + remembering a pie filling I used to make as a teenager for fruit pies + memories of the caramel banana topping. Recipe found at Technicolor Kitchen.
  19. Hot Chocolate Pie [19]: This is a recipe from James McNair’s Pie Cookbook that I received as a wedding gift and have been making for the last 15 years. I’ve even made up the filling and served it as a pudding or parfait, it’s that good. Recipe found at Scribbit.
  20. Recipe of the Day: Coconut Cream Pie (crust and all) [20]: I have used numerous basic pie crust recipes but this one is perfect. No-fail. Works every time. As far as a basic unsweetened crust good for general pie making…you won’t do better than this one! It can be prebaked for cream pies or used unbaked for filled pies. I even use it for chicken pot pie. Recipe found at Not Quite June Cleaver.
  21. Walnut Mincemeat Pie [21]: As a cold and tasty finishing touch, my husband and I usually put a dip of ice cream on top of this pie. The recipe’s from my mother – each year, I make it for Christmas, and then for my sister-in-law’s New Year’s party besides. Recipe found at Taste Of Home.

Bonus: Here’s a list of Homemade Pie Filling Recipes [22] that are good for canning.

Tips & Helpers


Article printed from TipNut.com: http://tipnut.com

URL to article: http://tipnut.com/favorite-pies/

URLs in this post:

[1] Chocolate Chess Pie: http://www.bhg.com/recipe/chocolate/chocolate-chess-pie/

[2] Chocolate Chunk Pecan Pie: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/chocolate-chip-pecan-pie-recipe

[3] Chocolate Espresso Pecan Pie: http://userealbutter.com/2009/06/01/chocolate-espresso-pecan-pie-recipe/

[4] 16 Impressive Apple Pies & Tarts To Make: {Recipes}: http://tipnut.com/make-apple-pies/

[5] LIBBY’S Famous Pumpkin Pie: http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/18470/LIBBYS-Famous-Pumpkin-Pie/detail.aspx

[6] Rum Raisin Apple Pie: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/RUM-RAISIN-APPLE-PIE-236430

[7] Pecan Pie in the Sky: http://alpineberry.blogspot.com/2007/12/pecan-pie-in-sky.html

[8] Spiced Apple and Pear Pie: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/spiced-apple-and-pear-pie-recipe/index.html

[9] Lemon Meringue Pie: http://www.diannesdishes.com/2008/01/daring-bakers-challenge-januar.html

[10] Grandma’s Chocolate Pie: http://homesicktexan.blogspot.com/2008/09/grandmas-chocolate-pie.html

[11] Key Lime Pie Recipe: http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/key-lime-pie-recipe/

[12] Coconut Custard Pie: http://www.eaglebrand.com/recipes/details/?RecipeId=3996&category=-1

[13] Cleveland Heights Cherry Pie: http://ruhlman.com/2009/06/cherry-pie/

[14] Easy Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheesecake Pie: http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/120840/Easy-Peanut-Butter-Chocolate-Cheesecake-Pie/detail.aspx

[15] Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie: http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/chocolate-peanut-butter-pie/8acaca82-fc0f-490f-bdb9-e9e3943c569b

[16] Peanut Butter Pie: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/peanut-butter-pie-recipe/index.html

[17] Butterfinger Pie Recipe: http://www.laaloosh.com/2010/06/03/butterfinger-pie-recipe/

[18] Caramel Banana Pie: http://technicolorkitcheninenglish.blogspot.com/2007/08/caramel-banana-pie-and-trip-down-memory.html

[19] Hot Chocolate Pie: http://scribbit.blogspot.com/2007/10/hot-chocolate-pie.html

[20] Recipe of the Day: Coconut Cream Pie (crust and all): http://www.notquitejunecleaver.com/2007/07/recipe-of-the-day-coconut-cream-pie-crust-and-all/

[21] Walnut Mincemeat Pie: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Walnut-Mincemeat-Pie

[22] Homemade Pie Filling Recipes: http://tipnut.com/homemade-pie-filling/

[23] Vintage Tips For Making Pies: http://tipnut.com/pie-making-tips/

[24] Kitchen Cheat Sheet For Making Fruit Pies: http://tipnut.com/fruit-pies-chart/

Copyright © 2008 TipNut.com. All rights reserved.