- TipNut.com - http://tipnut.com -

25+ Recipes For Festive Cookie Trays

Posted By Tipnut On December 6, 2010 @ 2:44 am In Recipes | 3 Comments

Here’s Tipnut’s big list featuring cookie recipes that will fill festive trays nicely (and make great homemade gifts too). Many traditional favorites included but lots of new ideas to try too.

Recipes
*Note: Descriptions below are quotes from the recipe sites

Festive Homemade Cookies Are A Treat To Serve & To Give

Festive Homemade Cookies Are A Treat To Serve & To Give

  1. Lime Snowfalkes and Ornaments [1]: From Woman’s Day Magazine.
  2. Spritz Canes [2]: Simple cream cheese cookie dough spiked with food coloring gets twisted up into a beautiful candy cane cookie. From Delish.
  3. Painted Hazelnut Shortbread Trees [3]: From Woman’s Day Magazine.
  4. Thumbprint Cookies [4]: This is buttery, soft and will melt-in-your-mouth. You can put any kind of jam on it. You can even fill it up with Nutella but you have to bake the cookies first and then only fill it up with Nutella. Found at My Kitchen Snippets.
  5. Cranberry Shortbread [5]: This version of shortbread is certainly a family tradition just as Santa and snowflakes. Soft and tender, they simply melt in your mouth. Wonderful all alone, but for the Holidays the addition of toffee or dried cranberries is an extra special treat. Found at Vegan Visitor.
  6. Elfin Shortbread [6]: These are so easy. Even easier if you use a food processor. They’re a basic shortbread, so if you’re looking for a sweet cookie, these aren’t going to do it for you. But if you love shortbread or know someone that does, give these a try! You make the dough right in the food processor, knead it a few times to get it all together, pat it out on your baking sheet and cut them into little squares. So easy! The only problem is that they’re teeny, and so easy to pop in your mouth…so watch out, hehe. Found at Elle’s New England Kitchen.
  7. Gingerbread Roll-Outs [7]: Today’s gingerbread recipe, from The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion is medium spicy and particularly crisp. From Serious Eats.
  8. Checkerboard [8]: They are a light cookie with nice flavor and are not as sweet as some festive cookies. From The Barmy Baker.
  9. Gale Gand’s Pinwheel Cookie Dough [9]: Pinwheel cookies, in which chocolate and vanilla dough are layered, rolled, and sliced, are an impressive-looking and delicious treat. From Epicurious.
  10. Peanut Butter Balls [10]: (These are the ones with Rice Krispies). Found at Lavender, Lace And Thyme.
  11. Orange Vanilla [11]: These are inspired by the sugar cookies my mother, Virginia, made each year for Christmas. I fine-tuned the original recipe over the years, replacing shortening with butter, eliminating milk, and increasing the orange flavor–but the wonderful aroma, subtle sweetness level, and crisp texture remain very much the same. Found at Luna Cafe.
  12. Chewy Sugar Cookies [12]: They taste so wonderful and really beg to be dunked into a glass of milk. These are classic Santa cookies! You won’t believe the texture. When you pick them up, they feel like a regular cookie, but biting in reveals a tender chewiness unlike any other. From Southern Plate.
  13. Holiday Ornaments [13]: Candy canes are the sweet baked-in hooks for this easy-mix sugar cookie. From Betty Crocker.
  14. Lemon Sugar [14]: The sweet aroma of sugar cookies baking in the oven is a fond holiday memory. A dash of lemon extract to the batter keeps things lively. From Redbook.
  15. Peppermint Frosted Chocolate Cookies [15]: I found this recipe on Country Home. Mint and chocolate is about my favorite combination in all the land. I am going to have to try this one! From Be Different Act Normal.
  16. Minty Chocolate Christmas Cookies Recipe [16]: This first cookie combines thin chocolate wafers with a thick, creamy peppermint filling. I was imagining something along the lines of a homemade, peppermint, Oreo-type sandwich cookie. I stamped them into cute, tiny, bite-sized shapes – so they wouldn’t be too overwhelming. From 101 Cookbooks.
  17. Peanut Butter Cookies with Peanut Caramel [17]: I promised a bunch of holiday-friendly recipes this month, and this one is a doozy! Peanut butter cookies, filled with salted peanut caramel—do those sound as good to you as they do to me? Found at David Lebovitz.
  18. Molasses Spice [18]: (Recipe is towards the bottom of the page). Baking Notes: Be sure to use spices that are as fresh as possible, as much of the cookie flavor depends on them. The type of molasses used also affects the intensity and depth of flavor. Light and dark molasses are the most common types found in stores; both work well in this recipe. Found at Baking And Books.
  19. Red Velvet Black and White [19]: Seriously. Please understand me when I say that YOU MUST MAKE THESE COOKIES! They’re brilliant! They’ll instantly make you more popular (if you share) and they’ll reduce the fine lines and puffiness under your eyes (if you use them like spa cucumber slices). I wouldn’t lie to you. Go. Make! Found at Joy The Baker.
  20. Apricot Balls Recipe [20]: These soft apricot and coconut balls contain crushed peanuts, chunks of fluffy marshmallow, and finely chopped white chocolate. For optimum flavour, we remove the apricot balls from the fridge about 15 minutes before serving. Found at Exclusively Food.
  21. Really Good Rum Balls [21]: There are rum ball recipes galore, but none better than this one. From The Canadian Living Test Kitchen.
  22. Hazelnut Rum Balls [22]: Although I’ve never succeeded in making the perfect rum ball at home, I’ve now succeeded in making quite a perfect variation of it. Hazelnuts have always seemed like good company for a decent rum ball and condensed milk is probably good company for anyone interested in the very quintessence of company. Found at Bounteous Bites.
  23. Cherry Peanut Butter Balls [23]: Years ago, I saved this festive recipe and made it only at Christmastime. But my grandkids loved the sweet combination of peanut butter, chocolate and cherries so much that now I mix up a batch anytime they ask or visit! From Taste Of Home.
  24. Orange Cream Cheese Cut-Outs [24]: I have decided that these are my favorite Christmas cookies. And this recipe makes a lot of them…which is why it’s a good idea to have lots of people in mind to share them with!! Because having them just sitting around the house screaming at me to come eat them is a bad idea. From Heavenly Homemakers.
  25. Stained Glass Gingerbread [25]: CANDY. Yes it’s totally bad for you, addictive even, spikes your blood sugar, gives you diabetes, and has little other nutritional value. It makes for excellent stained glass when melted inside gingerbread cookies. My mother figured out this trick when we were kids, and we’ve been making them every year since. Found at A Smart Mouth.
  26. Snowball Cookies [26]: I’ve seen several different recipes for this cookie also. I just stick to my tried and true recipe that I have used for over 30 years. Thought you may want to try them out too. So here is the recipe for you to enjoy. Found at My Little Cottage In The Making.
  27. Chocolate Coconut Balls [27]: From Hershey’s Kitchen.
  28. Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies [28]: My family immediately adopted these yummy peanut butter kiss cookies as a family tradition. From Andreas Recipes.
  29. Paradise Macaroons [29]: From Food Network.

Article printed from TipNut.com: http://tipnut.com

URL to article: http://tipnut.com/holiday-baking-cookies/

URLs in this post:

[1] Lime Snowfalkes and Ornaments: http://www.womansday.com/recipefinder/lime-snowflakes-ornaments-121816

[2] Spritz Canes: http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/spritz-canes-2024

[3] Painted Hazelnut Shortbread Trees: http://www.womansday.com/recipefinder/painted-hazelnut-shortbread-trees-121589

[4] Thumbprint Cookies: http://www.mykitchensnippets.com/2007/12/thumbprint-cookies.html

[5] Cranberry Shortbread: http://veganvisitor.wordpress.com/2007/12/17/cranberry-shortbread/

[6] Elfin Shortbread: http://www.ellesnewenglandkitchen.com/blog/2008/9/29/holiday-baking-elfin-shortbread-cookies-first-in-a-series.html

[7] Gingerbread Roll-Outs: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2008/12/gingerbread-rollout-cookies.html

[8] Checkerboard: http://thebarmybaker.blogspot.com/2006/12/going-boldly-where-no-barmy-baker-has.html

[9] Gale Gand’s Pinwheel Cookie Dough: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Gale-Gands-Pinwheel-Cookie-Dough-236723

[10] Peanut Butter Balls: http://lavenderlaceandthyme.blogspot.com/2008/11/peanut-butter-balls.html

[11] Orange Vanilla: http://thelunacafe.com/orange-vanilla-sugar-cookies/

[12] Chewy Sugar Cookies: http://www.southernplate.com/2008/11/chewy-sugar-cookies-and-king-arthur.html

[13] Holiday Ornaments: http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/holiday-cookie-ornaments/fd7033c9-29db-4c96-9bca-09a9404533fd

[14] Lemon Sugar: http://www.redbookmag.com/recipefinder/lemon-sugar-cookies-dessert-recipes

[15] Peppermint Frosted Chocolate Cookies: http://www.bedifferentactnormal.com/2008/12/cookie-swap-peppermint-frosted.html

[16] Minty Chocolate Christmas Cookies Recipe: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/minty-chocolate-christmas-cookies-recipe.html

[17] Peanut Butter Cookies with Peanut Caramel: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2008/12/peanut-butter-cookies-with-salte-1/

[18] Molasses Spice: http://www.bakingandbooks.com/2008/11/12/anitas-molasses-spice-cookies/

[19] Red Velvet Black and White: http://joythebaker.com/2008/04/red-velvet-black-and-white-cookies/

[20] Apricot Balls Recipe: http://www.exclusivelyfood.com.au/2007/11/apricot-balls-recipe.html

[21] Really Good Rum Balls: http://www.canadianliving.com/food/baking_and_desserts/really_good_rum_balls.php

[22] Hazelnut Rum Balls: http://bounteous-bites.blogspot.com/2008/05/hazelnut-rum-balls.html

[23] Cherry Peanut Butter Balls: http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Cherry-Peanut-Butter-Balls

[24] Orange Cream Cheese Cut-Outs: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/smells-like-christmas-cookies-orange-cream-cheese-cut-outs

[25] Stained Glass Gingerbread: http://blog.asmartmouth.com/2008/12/01/stained-glass-gingerbread/

[26] Snowball Cookies: http://cottageinthemaking.blogspot.com/2008/12/my-favorite-christmas-cookies.html

[27] Chocolate Coconut Balls: https://www.hersheys.com/recipes/recipe-details.aspx?id=4627&name=Chocolate+Coconut+Balls

[28] Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies: http://andreasrecipes.com/peanut-butter-kiss-cookies/

[29] Paradise Macaroons: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paradise-macaroons-recipe/index.html

Copyright © 2008 TipNut.com. All rights reserved.